Same Love Seat, Different Days

My mom walked like an Egyptian long before the Bangles did.  I love her zany bonnet and circus top dress.

Me (far right) and two of my sisters in a picture from the early 90’s.  The same love seat re-upholstered is in the background towards the center of the picture.  About 10 years after this picture was taken, my parents’ house burned to the ground.  The love seat was lost in the fire along with most of their possessions.

Going back in time, here is one last picture of the same love seat.   My mom looks ready for a cotillion in her beehive hair, long wrap, and embroidered dress.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Same Love Seat, Different Days

  1. dogear6 says:

    Too funny! Gotta love those hairstyles. My sister and I did a photo album for my Mom’s 70th birthday and one set of pages was how her hair changed so constantly. Even she laughed at it.

    And thanks for visiting my blog! I have no idea how you found it, but that was nice of you to come by.

    • Beth says:

      Love the idea of a hairstyle history! I have a lot of old photos of my parents. A retrospective of my dad’s hair might be really interesting, since he has gone from curly, blonde locks as a little boy to bald as an adult 🙂

      I found your blog while tag surfing. Your photos are very lovely.

      • dogear6 says:

        Thanks for the compliment – I appreciate it. I also appreciate the comment about the tags – it’s good encouragement to keep doing them.

        A history of your Dad’s hair would be a hoot and I bet he’d get a good laugh from it too.

        We watched X-Men First Class last night (the prequel) and it shows have Xavier became paralyzed (shot in the back). At the end, he says to the effect of, it could be worse – I could be bald. Which of course he becomes, as he’s played by Patrick Stewart in the movies from later in the storyline. I laughed so hard. It was a great ending.

        Hope you had a good Thanksgiving!

        Nancy

      • Beth says:

        🙂 hilarious

Leave a Reply

