Love You to All

My mother-in-law expresses her love with food. We are staying with my in-laws for the Thanksgiving holiday, and are being very well fed. She left us a sweet note this morning listing the different foods we could have for lunch. Before we arrived, she made joot (rice porridge with finely chopped carrots) for Jason, green beans for Laura, and curry for me.

Simply mentioning that a dish is a favorite means that she will be sure to make it the next time we eat together. Even now at 9:30 pm, I can her hum as she chops vegetables. She is making one of my favorite soups for tomorrow. She just brought me over a bowl of grapes to snack on.

My mother-in-law with Laura, New Year's Day 2009

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love You to All

  1. katery says:

    thanks for your comment on my blog, it’s so nice to have the support! where are you visiting? do you live in the states?

  2. NoJobJulie says:

    Oh, the hand holding, my 9 year old girl will still do it, my 13 (next week) year old boy…no way! I remember the days of not being able to imagine letting them cross any street without a firm grip on their hand or wrist! Loved reading this.

    • Beth says:

      The teen years – not looking forward to that time. My sister’s kids are hitting the teenage lumpy, bumpy times. Definitely a challenge.

  3. Your mother-in-law’s note made me smile. I love that mothers always want to feed their kids, no matter how old their kids may be!

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog so I could find yours!

Leave a Reply

