Hold Tight

“Don’t let go. Hold my hand tight. I don’t want to lose you.” My husband and I say these phrases a lot as we navigate crowds, cross streets, and have adventures with our kids. We firmly grasp Laura’s hand as she asserts her independence.

Even as we cling, Laura shakes us away. “I’m a big girl. I can do it myself.” Sometimes, we grant the freedom to cross our empty street with no helping hand. Other times, we insist on keeping the link between us. The best times are when she reaches out to us to hold hands simply because it is nice to be together.

With baby Jason, it is easier. We carry Jason in our arms. As he attempts to balance on his wobbly legs or rides on our shoulders, we wrap our fingers around his wrists, securing him from falls. He still needs us to hold him tight most of the time.

One of the challenges of parenting is knowing when to let go and when to hold tight.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hold Tight

  1. katery says:

    it’s hard for me to let louise be independent! she still doesn’t understand about cars and things so i always have a firm grip on her when we’re in parking lots or crossing the street. i try to let her be a little more independent when we’re in the front yard though.

    • Beth says:

      Independence comes in little steps. I think it is an insurance commercial that shows a dad talking to a little girl and then she morphs into a 16 year old. Before becoming a parent, I didn’t get that longing for the baby your child once was. We’re still many years away from 16 and working to enjoy this moment with our kids.

  2. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    One of the challenges of parenting is knowing when to let go and when to hold tight.
    (love that)
    This is beautiful, meaningful post.
    I love that you get your message across using few words.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks so much. Especially as my eldest gets bigger, I am torn. I want her to be strong and independent. Yet I also want her to need me and listen/act on my words.

  3. BeingMama says:

    Simple beauty (the best kind!). Love this.

Leave a Reply

