From Goldilocks to a Bald Head in Seven Stages

Stage 1. Baby with curly, blond locks

Stage 2. Child with sun bleached crew cut

Stage 3. Young man with brushed back waves

Stage 4. Fiance with high brow

Stage 5. Young father with hair island

Stage 6. Older father with Friar Tuck tonsure

Stage 7. Grandfather with bald pate

The above pictures are the Cliffs Notes version of my dad’s journey to baldness.   For a long time, he kept the small patch of hair at the center of his head very long.  We called it his foreign hair and unrelentingly teased him about it.  On windy days, the foreign hair would fly up exposing the naked scalp it covered.

With all the shaved heads of today, is baldness still a big concern for men?  Is baldness for men equivalent to grey hair for women?

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From Goldilocks to a Bald Head in Seven Stages

  1. Storm Rider says:

    Yes, I think it’s quite a concern.. it made me spend a fortune on a hair transplant just a week back.. hope it’s worth it.. fingers crossed ! : )

    Nice post btw : )

  2. Momma G says:

    Oh, the memories! I showed this one to Dad; he both laughed and sighed. His bald pate does not seem to bother him anymore. It is what it is. He has moved on. The “foreign hair” years truly were a source of amusement. I suspect the bigger problem is not losing the hair, but rather the reason for the hair loss: advancing age. That 40th birthday was really a gray-cloud day. I like the way you put the pictures together, very observant of you.

    • Beth says:

      When I was putting this together, I wondered what Dad would think. I didn’t want to offend him. I’m interested in how someone evolves over time. As I look through our family pictures, I learn more about our shared story.

  3. dogear6 says:

    I’m glad your Dad enjoyed it! He had quite a head of hair as a young man, although even now he’s still a good looking guy. I think one of my words next week will lend itself to doing my Mom’s. It should be a hoot.

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog! That was very nice.

    Nancy

  4. Pingback: Girl to Grandma in 6 Steps | Elephants & Rutabagas

Leave a Reply

