Stage Makeup

Before: all natural, no makeup or hair products

Materials: Spray bottle of water, hair spray, gel, hair net, bobby pins, bristly brush, lipstick, blush, powder, foundation, eyeliner, mascara, eye shadow, powder brush, shadow brush, eyebrow brush

After: makeup, hair in high, classical bun

Laura is a spicedrop in a production of The Nutcracker. Today was photo day, so Laura needed her stage hair and makeup done.

All but basic hair and makeup is outside my skill sets. I struggled to get her chin length bob into a high, classical bun. I attempted to apply foundation, eyeliner, mascara, blush, and lipstick symmetrically and evenly. The end result was messy and amateurish. Despite great gobs of gel that crunchified her hair and many bobby pins, wispy strands drooped on her neck. Her eyeliner was heavily smudged and one eye was drawn much heavier than the other.

Over the next 2 weeks, I will need to do this hair and makeup routine 3 more times for Laura (dress rehearsal + 2 performances). I hope it gets easier with practice.

How have your kids pushed you out of your comfort zone and experience level? Any tips for applying eyeliner?

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stage Makeup

  1. Tobi-Dawne says:

    I’ll be honest, a big reason we decided against dance for kid-kid was the ridiculous rules (no bangs, buns, stage make-up)… I just couldn’t do it to a four year old. LMAO Maybe when she’s eight. šŸ˜‰

    • Beth says:

      I think dance class is harder on me as the parent, then my daughter. Her regular, 1x/week class is really good, with age appropriate, imagination rich activities. She looks forward to going. Nutcracker has been a lot more involved then I thought it would be when we signed up. I’m looking forward to it being over.

  2. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    we passed on the hardcore dance class in exchange for a laid back one offered by my town. by laid back i mean, no costumes, no makeup, no real requirements except to listen and have a good time. but your daughter looks adorable!

  3. shoes says:

    I think you did a great job! I am very glad I have two boys because I can not tell you how many days we are out the door to school or somewhere and as I am getting them into the car I notice their unkempt hair a sure sign I forgot to brush it that morning. Boys can better get away with such things I think.
    I also wanted to let you know that I have presented you with The Liebster Award for blogging since I very much enjoy reading your blog. You can find out more info on it at my blog. Hope you have a great day! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

