Girl to Grandma in 6 Steps

1.  Girl
2.  Teenager
3.  Bride
4. Young Mother
5.  Middle Age
6.  Grandmother

We are moving targets as we journey through time, aging and changing. Some features – a smile, face shape – are more fixed. Other features – hair, skin – are more mutable. The above 6 pictures show my mom’s journey from girl to grandma.

Here is a similar chronology for my dad.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Girl to Grandma in 6 Steps

  1. BeingMama says:

    I tweeted your link. Something about this is mesmerizing. The arc of a life.

    • Beth says:

      I’ve never been tweeted before – thank you. As I looked through pictures, it allowed me to see my mom in a more impartial way. Normally, when I am with her, I don’t deeply look at her appearance.

  2. Beautiful! So interesting! Life really does fly by.

  3. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    Photographic depiction of a human life cycle….so moving…love it.

  4. This is amazing. I’m gonna do one for mi Madre because of this. Just…incredible.

  5. dogear6 says:

    Wow, you got your Mom AND your Dad with all the hairstyles. LOL!

    Actually, it was a very good photo story. It would make a nice litlte photo album on Shutterfly as a gift for her. I don’t know how many children / grandchildren she has, but you would do a photo a page and have each family member write something short for each page. I recently did a Happiness Is album and it turned out great. Top Ten is another good format.

    http://www.shutterfly.com/custom-path/stylecatalog.sfly?fromLocation=lightbox&order=false&defaultBookTitle=My%20Photo%20Book&bookInitID=1324004855027&bookSize=8×8&coverType=USER_CUSTOM

  6. dogear6 says:

    I shared the album on my site. There’s nothing confidential in it and I can take it down in a few days.

    http://dogear6.shutterfly.com/pictures/140

    • Beth says:

      Thank you so much for sharing your Happiness Is album. I love the idea of making a picture story like you did. I’m too late for Christmas, but maybe my mom and dad will be getting a book on some future special occasion.

      • dogear6 says:

        You’re welcome! I thought it might help give you some ideas. When we did my Mom’s 70th birthday book, we solicited letters from friends and family and she loved it.

Leave a Reply

