Christmas 2011

Laura writing Hamani (grandma) and Harabudgi (grandpa) on present she picked out and wrapped herself.

This Christmas was filled with firsts:

    • Jason’s first Christmas
    • First Christmas in Connecticut
    • First Christmas with just us + my in-laws visiting, no other family
    • First Christmas where Laura was really into Santa and giving gifts

This year, our gifts weren’t lavish.  Our preparations were simple.  Yet I feel this was one of our nicest Christmases ever.  It was a time of family togetherness.  Some of my memories from the weekend include:

    • Jason snarfing down the rice porridge my mother-in-law made for him.
    • A reindeer pooping candy.  My mother-in-law picked this up for Laura’s stocking.  Laura thought it was hilarious and offered us poop all day long.
    • Laura finding a puddle covered with ice during a woods walk.  She asked, “Who put plastic on the water?”
    • The oven breaking.  Thank goodness it didn’t break until after the beef tenderloin was roasted.
    • Jung playing Snack Attack with Laura.  This game was Laura’s favorite gift

Jason with a new sippy cup from his stocking

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Christmas 2011

  1. Because I like you and your blog, I have included you in my list of Versatile Blogging Award recipients. Please accept your award and all of the obvious accolades at:

    http://illsleepwhentheyregrown.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/i-love-awards-and-sharing-them-too/

  2. dogear6 says:

    It didn’t have to be elaborate to be memorable, did it? Sounds like a great time.

  3. Paula says:

    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH… wish we were there (and at the same time, glad we were here) actually, wish we could split ourselves in two so we could’ve been here AND there. :p 🙂

  4. Paula says:

    oh, btw–halmuhnee got aiden a pooping santa………HAHAHAHA. BUT, i think we will exchange it for another m&m fan as they both seem to want to play w/that. my mom is hilarious.

    • Beth says:

      The M&M fan was a hit here as well. Laura has gotten it tangled in her hair once. Your mom sure has a way of finding slightly off-beat items that appeal to the kids. I imagine her combing through Bed, Bath, and Beyond trying out all the pooping toys and other holiday novelties.

      • Paula says:

        PUHAHAHHHAAHAA…ya know, sometimes i think my mom doesn’t even know what she’s necessarily buying and just buys it b/c it looks cute. 🙂

  5. Ah…the pooping reindeer. Those things drive me nuts, but I completely get why kids like them. I think they’ve made those dispensers in every animal alive.

    • Beth says:

      Poop = big laughs. I’m looking forward to my kids outgrowing potty humor. Then, I listen to a joke from my dad and realize that there is a big chance that they never outgrow it.

Leave a Reply

