4872 Ft Above Sea

This is a photo of my dad and grandma taken on Whiteface Mountain in Wilmington, New York. I don’t know the story behind the picture, though my dad organized it in a folder called “Trip with Trailer.”

When I looked up Whiteface Mountain on Wikipedia, it listed a height of 4,867 feet. The picture shows a height of 4,872 feet. The mystery of the missing five feet was explained in the Lodi News-Sentinel, August 20, 1957, page 2.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 4872 Ft Above Sea

  1. Props to your grandmother visiting a mountain in a skirt! It’s amazing how the times have changed.

    • Beth says:

      Times certainly have changed… I pull out a skirt maybe once a month to wear. I couldn’t imagine giving up jeans to wear a skirt everyday let alone when visiting a mountain.

      • dinnerwithdelores says:

        I couldn’t tell you the last time I wore a skirt. Maybe over the summer, when it was very hot?

      • Beth says:

        Me, too. Very rarely, I wear a skirt to bond with my dress and skirt loving daughter. I think I own a total of 3 skirts.

  2. BeingMama says:

    Excellent sleuthing! What a great story (and photo).

Leave a Reply

