Erupting Teeth

Jason’s teeth to date:

1. Lower left central incisor (Jason’s first tooth emerged at 6 months. He had 1 lone tooth or more than a month before tooth 2 finally erupted.)
2. Lower right central incisor
3. Upper left lateral incisor (I didn’t notice this tooth until the doctor was checking Jason’s throat. I wasn’t expecting the lateral incisors to erupt before the central incisors.)
4. Upper right lateral incisor
5. Central right incisor
6. Central left incisor (This tooth is just a gum lump with a small white tip protruding.)

3, 4, 5, and 6 are slowly emerging in a quadruple teething play, leading to much finger sucking and drooling.

Here is some random teething trivia. According to the Mayo Clinic website, baby teeth generally fall out in the same pattern that they arrived. Have you found this to be true with your kids?

Diagram from the ADA website.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Erupting Teeth

  1. Maggie says:

    Wow! So I’m not crazy, and Zoe is maybe still working on those last molars! Clearly, I am not as knowledgeable about teeth as you are–or even about exactly which teeth my kid has in her mouth right now! I will have to check when I pick her up today . . .

    • Beth says:

      Teeth are surprising. Based on the ADA chart, it is definitely possible that Zoe has a straggler or two. Laura’s teeth arrived in a fast march. She had her complete set of 20 by 18 months. Jason’s are arriving more gradually and in an unexpected pattern. I have to regularly check his mouth for the progress of the first few and to determine whether he is cranky due to teeth or something else. By the time the first 8-10 are in, teething becomes a non-event.

  2. Pingback: One Tooth Proud | Elephants & Rutabagas

  3. They fall out IN THE SAME ORDER?? You just blew my mind. I’ll be watching for this.

    • Beth says:

      Crazy, isn’t it? I mostly remember how Laura’s teeth came in, so am very curious to see how they fall out. She’s about 1 year from the first shedding (until I saw the ADA chart, I didn’t realize that was the technical term).

  4. Ann says:

    Trekker received his Lateral incisors also before his central incisors. I was very greatful because I was breastfeeding him and was not to excited about the trauma that can be incurred by a baby bitting down.

    • Beth says:

      I got a couple nips, but nothing too bad. Weaning started shortly after Jason started pulling backward while still latched on – OUCH!

Leave a Reply

