The Booth without a Phone

20120201-203432.jpg

An artifact lives next to the street lamp at the local Shell Station. The pay phone is long missing, though the booth persists. Does anyone drive away disappointed that no emergency call may be placed here?

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Not in the Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Booth without a Phone

  1. shoes says:

    I like this. I have been known to stop and whip out my camera to take pictures of phone booths (with or without phone intact). Ah, the good old days of pay phones…It really doesn’t seem all that long ago. πŸ™‚

    • Beth says:

      When I see this phone booth, I remember the last time I made a call on a pay phone. I had just arrived in New Jersey with my family two days before my wedding. We stopped at a gas station and I called Jung to meet us so that we could follow him the rest of the way to his house. That was 15 years ago, and it doesn’t seem that long ago at all.

  2. dogear6 says:

    I doubt anyone even notices it missing! Pay phones are so seldom used these days (and people are generally not very observant either).

    • Beth says:

      I’ll have to keep my eyes out for a working pay phone – haven’t seen one in ages. Maybe the last time was at an airport? You are right – no one probably notices the empty booth.

  3. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    I was trying to explain to my children the other day about rotary phones, pay phones, etc. They thought it was funny πŸ™‚
    (I’m from Jersey too!)

Leave a Reply

