Mister Neb

The kids have the daycare equivalent of kennel cough. It started with Jason, who has had 2 ear infections, pink eye, and a runny nose since the beginning of the year. Jung picked up the cough and an ear infection. Laura now has the cough and a stuffy nose. She calls it the “Penguin Arctic Cold,” a name that I think is an allusion to an Oswald episode where Henry had the sniffles.

Last night, none of us got our beauty sleep as Laura told her teacher this morning. Jason was restless, alternating between moans, hacking coughs, and cries. Laura was up at 3 AM, complaining that she couldn’t breathe.

 As a parent, I am weak in the war against cold symptoms. Infants and young kids can’t take cough syrups like Nyquil. Instead, I am limited to:

  • Vicks Baby Rub
  • Saline Nose Drops administered with the help of Mister Neb, a compressor nebulizer system
  • Vaporizer
  • Ice Cream

May tonight bring sweet dreams and rest for all.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mister Neb

  1. dogear6 says:

    Too bad! I always hated when they were sick like that.

    Nancy

  2. You have my sympathy! No one told me that having kids was like inviting Typhoid Mary to live with you!!! It got to the point that my husband and I would drink cherry flavored Nyquil as a before bed time appertif. We would stand in the bathroom and slug it back together after clicking our little plastic dose cups together and saying “Cheers!” They are almost 20 and 22 now so it isn’t so bad. I have to say though that the cold I have now I think came from my youngest daughter. I saw her for 2 hours on the 14th and by the night of the 15th I was sick!

    • Beth says:

      The typhoid Mary comment made me laugh. The kids are the vectors for lots of germs as they share snot and toys at school.

      To fight his cough, my husband purchased some cherry vanilla NyQuil, hoping the new flavor would taste better than the old. It didn’t. The NyQuil did knock him out, leaving me to lay awake wondering whether I should let baby fuss a little longer or go get him.

  3. My older boys would never take any meds because of the taste. Drove me nuts. I ended up drinking wine to help ME cope. Bless you. Hope everyone is on the road to recovery.

    • Beth says:

      Kids are feeling a little better and more importantly sleeping. Medicine taste is a deterrent. When Laura has needed a 10 day antibiotic that needs to be administered 2x per day, we used apple juice as a disguise. Jason slurps any meds down without complaint.

  4. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    We are big Vicks users…I read that slathering vicks on feet and then covering with socks helps with cough. (It didn’t help with pneumonia though!) You have my empathy and sympathy.

    • Beth says:

      I wonder at the connection between the feet and lungs. The Vicks seems to be helping. Colds haven’t gotten any worse and seem on the mend. Your battle with pneumonia was the pits 😦

      • Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

        Glad you are on the mend as we are too (knock on wood). I’m still smiling about kennel cough…!

Leave a Reply

