Crocheron Hill, Bayside, New York

On Crocheron Hill, Aug. 1914

Jr. Williams on Crocheron Hill, June 1922

Photo by Christina Santucci
Birken Johnson pulls his sled up the hill in Crocheron Park.
Image from the Times Ledger

The top 2 images are from my maternal grandmother’s photo album. The bottom image is from the Times Ledger, proudly serving Queens since 1919. I think these photos were all taken on the same Crocheron Hill. The hill is now part of a park. According to the park’s history, when the 1914 and 1922 photos were taken, this area was the unused and undeveloped estate grounds of the Crocheron family.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crocheron Hill, Bayside, New York

  1. dogear6 says:

    That is a great groupnof pictures! I’m really enjoying the different comparative pics you’ve been doing lately.

    Nancy

  2. kalalushop says:

    These photo’s are incredible! I just love old photographs. Not only do they look great, but it’s something about holding something that old (essentially paper that’s lasted) especially when its connected to your family. 🙂

    • Beth says:

      I enjoy looking at old pictures and catching a glimpse at lives and family I know only in a different time and place. It makes them more real.

  3. shoes says:

    This is great! I love old photos and the stories they tell.

    • Beth says:

      Thanks. My blog gives me an excuse to look at old family photos and really study them rather than just casually page through. It has helped me feel more connected to my roots.

Leave a Reply

