Cherry Tomatoes as High as an Elephant’s Eye

I was not optimistic for the success of the tomatoes we planted in May. Last year’s experiment with container gardening resulted in one small tomato before the plant died from a combination of too much water and too little drainage. However, we gave it another try this growing season, planting one red cherry tomato and one yellow pear tomato plant in the flower beds.

The tomatoes have exceeded expectation. Laura checks the plants regularly, so that we may gather the ripe tomatoes before the grey catbird steals them. She and Jason like the picking part, but neither care to eat the harvest.

About Beth

Wife, mother of 2, worker bee - striving to balance roles and continually learn
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cherry Tomatoes as High as an Elephant’s Eye

  1. Little Sis says:

    My container tomato experiments have been deeply unsatisfying. I’ve got some in the ground and some in pots this year, and it’s pretty clear that containers just aren’t the thing for tomatoes and me. Happy to see your harvest and eagerly awaiting my own.

    • Beth says:

      Having the plants in the ground have made a big difference. Much less fussy and I don’t have to water so regularly. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a bumper tomato crop.

  2. Paula says:

    So cute (the kids) n so pretty (the tomatoes)! 🙂

  3. Momma G says:

    Cherry tomatoes are a good choice because they are so prolific – lots to pick throughout the season, sweet, and perfect for salads, for those who like them. The soft center seems to be a texture issue for some. Save the seeds from a few of the best ones to plant inside next march/april. If you’re interested, I’ll tell you the technique for saving the seeds, not hard, but a bit icky, just a little. A good choice for containers is lettuce, easy to grow. You can start a late crop in mid August when the days are getting a bit cooler; you will have greens until frost.

  4. Ann says:

    I plant cherry tomatoes for my chickens, no one in my family eat them. They are a yummy treat for my birds, they enjoy chasing one another around the pen when one picks a tomato up. I feel bad I and Greg do not like tomatoes and we seem to have passed that dislike on to our children even though they might have enjoyed them if I showed more interest in them. I wonder what other things I have stopped my children from liking due to my influence. It is very hard not to sway a child to your way of thinking, though it seems when they turn into teenagers they don’t like anything the parent likes. What changes?

    • Beth says:

      Perhaps your kids will acquire the taste as part of teenage rebellion. You are right about exposure, both over and under, influencing taste. After years of avoiding blue cheese, I gave it a try and found that I love it. I’m still not embracing fish and eggs, but my palate has expanded with age. I don’t have a good answer to your musing on what changes when kids hit teenage years. I’m not looking forward to having the kids turn into rebels.

  5. Going out of town might’ve been the end of my tomato season b/c my house watchers didn’t watch my garden. Oh well. I had 30/week for a while, and I got to the point where I didn’t even know what to do with them after a while. We ended up making lots of sauces (that’s the royal we–Hubs did all the work). The trick we found was to pick them right when they start to turn yellow, that way no pests get in there, hanging around for the green ones to turn delicious for them.

  6. shoes says:

    Yummy! We have three cherry tomato plants in our garden this year. This summer has been lacking in sunshine and warmth but the plants are doing surprisingly well. Homegrown tomatoes have to be my favorite!

    • Beth says:

      Homegrown tomatoes, fresh basil, and baby mozzarella are my reason for the tomato plants – yummy. I am amazed that these plants that we put in the soil and give minimal care give such generous bounty.

  7. Pingback: Baby Watermelon Promises | Elephants & Rutabagas

Leave a Reply

